National Amateur Cup: Siggiewi, Kalkara through to quarter-finals

Siggiewi and Kalkara United joined Zurrieq and Birzebbuga St. Peter’s in the quarter-finals of the National Amateur Cup as they both registered wins in matches from the Round of 16 at the Centenary Stadium on Thursday.

Siggiewi defeated Rabat Ajax 5-4 on penalties following a 1-1 draw at the end of the 90 minutes and extra-time. Rabat took the lead thanks to Brandon Farrugia on the 33rd minute but substitute Gilbert Camilleri equalised on the 55th. In the penalty shoot-out, Aidan Azzopardi had his first penalty saved with Joseph Caruana, Brandon Micallef, Nestor Silva Canas and Maverick Cassar scoring theirs for Rabat; Andre Farrugia, Kurt Magro, Jason Camilleri, and Eman Ciappara replied for Siggiewi with Rene Duca’s penalty being neutralised by the Rabat goalkeeper. Neil Caruana had his penalty saved by the Siggiewi goalkeeper with Jacob Vincent Magri scoring to hand Siggiewi a place in the next round.

In another match, a penalty by Ayrton Micallef on the 120th minute – the last minute of extra-time – handed Kalkara United a 1-0 win over Kirkop United.

National Amateur Cup Results & Fixtures