Floriana suffer third consecutive defeat

Floriana suffered a third consecutive defeat as they lost 2-5 to Birkirkara at the Hibernians Stadium on Tuesday.

Ironically the Greens took the lead but the Stripes soon turned the score in their favour with two goals in three minutes just past the half-hour, extending the lead during the second half.

Birkirkara move sixth to join Santa Lucia on 21 points while Floriana remain tenth on 16.

Floriana forged ahead on the 12th minute when off an Ulises Arias cross from the left, Flavio Cheveresan headed home past goalkeeper Sandro Guarnone.

Birkirkara equalised on the 33 minute thanks to Paul Mbong who hit home from close range following a cross by Cain Attard from the right.

Three minutes later, the Stripes turned the score in their favour with a great goal by Alex da Paixao Alves who received a pass by Yannick Yankam from the left and beat Guarnone with a fine rising shot from outside the area.

Birkirkara went 3-1 ahead on the 72nd minute thanks to a penalty by Alex da Paixao Alves after he was brought down inside the area by Jurgen Pisani following a good run by the Brazilian on the left.

Three minutes later, Alex da Paixao sent Luke Montebello through and the latter advanced into the area before hitting low past Akpan. 

Seven minutes from time, Floriana reduced the gap when off a corner from the left, a fine volley by Enzo Ruiz gave the Birkirkara goalkeeper no chance. 

However on the 90th, Luke Montebello made it 5-2 beating Akpan with an angled shot from the right following a good run by Caio Prado on the right and an assist by Alex da Paixao for the Malta international midfielder.

FLORIANA Ini Etim Akpan, Moustapha Muhamadou Beye, Enzo Ruiz, Kristian Keqi (63’ Jan Busuttil), Ulises Arias, Brandon Paiber (84’ Siraj Arab Eddin), Jurgen Pisani, Matias Garcia, Alex Cini, Flavio Silva Cheveresan, Tiago Adan Fonseca.
Coach: Enzo Potenza

B’KARA Alessandro Guarnone, Enrico Pepe, Yannick Yankam, Luke Montebello, Paul Mbong, Roderick Briffa, Reginald Mbu Alidor (50’ Claudio Bonanni), Federico Falcone (78’ Caio Henrique Prado), Cain Attard, Oscar Matias Carniello, Alex Da Paixao Alves.
Coach: Andre Paus

Referee: Matthew De Gabriele
Assistant Referees: Edward Spiteri, Luke Portelli
Fourth Official: Andrea Sciriha
Yellow Cards: Fonseca, Pepe, Paiber
BOV Player of the Match: Alex da Paixao Alves