FA Trophy: Final four teams make it to Round of 32

The last four teams to reach the Round of 32 of the FA Trophy were Marsa, Marsaxlokk, Zebbug Rangers and Victoria Hotspurs as the remaining matches from the Preliminary Round were played on Sunday.

At the Kercem Ajax Stadium, Marsa defeated hosts Kercem Ajax 3-0 thanks to goals by Patrick Teixeira Maia on the 7th minute, Rodrigo Coelho Confettura on the 69th and Paulo Santos De Azevedo on the 91st.

In another match at the Kercem Ajax Stadium, Zebbug Rangers scored six goals in the second half as they beat Oratory Youths 8-1. Shaun Bugeja put Zebbug ahead on the 29th minute but Daniel Azzopardi equalised on the 33rd. However Luka Mijic made it 2-1 on the 35th. In the second half, goals by Ayrton Mizzi on the 46th, Stanimir Miloskovic on the 54th, Jonatan Silva da Silveira on the 62nd, Randall Vella on the 69th and 71st and Clive Gauci on the 76th handed Zebbug a most comfortable win.

At the Gozo Stadium, a goal by Christian Mercieca on the 64th minute handed Victoria Hotspurs a narrow win over Vittoriosa Stars.

Birzebbuga St. Peter’s, Fgura United, Ghajnsielem, Nadur Youngsters, St. Andrews, Naxxar Lions, Mqabba and Pembroke Athleta had earlier qualified from the Preliminary Round while Qormi, Sannat Lions, Xaghra United and Swieqi United received a bye.

The teams in the Round of 32 are therefore BOV Challenge League sides Fgura United, Naxxar Lions, Marsa, Marsaxlokk Mqabba, Pembroke Athleta, Qormi, Swieqi United, St. Andrews and Zebbug Rangers; BOV National Amateur League side Birzebbuga St. Peter’s; Gozitan sides Ghajnsielem, Nadur Youngsters, Sannat Lions, Victoria Hotspurs, Xaghra United together with the sixteen Premier League clubs.