National Amateur Cup: Marsaskala, Kalkara through to quarter-finals after penalty shoot-out

Marsaskala, Kalkara United, Zabbar St. Patrick and Xghajra Tornados reached the quarter-finals of the National Amateur Cup 2021/22 after emerging as winners in the four matches from the Round of 16 on Saturday.

At the Sirens Stadium, Zabbar St. Patrick bounced back from the defeat to Marsaskala last week as they beat Mtarfa 3-1.

Jean Pierre Mifsud Triganza put Zabbar ahead on the 16th minute and Terence Agius doubled the score on the 73rd. Three minutes later Najm Dia pulled one back for Mtarfa on 78 minutes but two minutes in added time, Gianluca Zammit sealed the issue for Fausto Craighero’s side.

At the Luxol Stadium, Marsaskala defeated Birzebbuga St. Peter’s 3-2 on penalties following an enterteaining 2-2 draw at the end of the ninety minutes and extra-time.

Adrian Carabott converted a penalty to put Marsaskala ahead on the 11th minute and Radnor Farrugia doubled the score six minutes in the second half. However, Sam Kind converted another penalty to reduce the gap on the 56th minute and Joshua Farrugia equalised on the 79th.

The match went into extra-time but with no goals being scored the penalty shoot-out had to determine the winner.
Josmike Cesare and Daniel Mallia scored the two penalties for Birzebbuga while Nicholas Zammit, Fabrizio Zammit and Abubakar Bello Osagie scored for Marsaskala.

In another match at the Sirens Stadium, Kalkara United beat Attard 4-1 on penalties following a 2-2 draw at the end of the ninety minutes and a 3-3 draw at the end of extra-time.

Keith Fedele put Attard ahead on the 42nd and Bledi Alla made it 2-0 seven minutes in the second half. Cedric Zahra reduced the gap on the 71st and Jordan Vella equalised three minutes from time.

The match went into extra-time and Mohamed Ahmad Ayoub put Kalkara ahead for the first time fourteen minutes in the first half of extra-time. But Attard notched a last-gasp equaliser two minutes in added time thanks to Luke Matthew Bugeja.

In the penalty shoot-out, Kalkara scored four and Attard one.

At the Luxol Stadium, Xghajra Tornados defeated Msida St. Joseph 3-1.

Neil Darmanin put Xghajra ahead on the 16th minute and three minutes from the end of the first half, Erik Pietribiasi doubled the score thanks to a penalty. Seven minutes in the second half, Matthias Vella pulled one back for Msida but a penalty by Gaynor D’Amato on the 66th sealed the issue for Xghajra.