Marsaskala, Zurrieq through to National Amateur Cup semi-finals

Marsaskala and Zurrieq joined Zabbar St. Patrick and Mellieha in the semi-finals of the National Amateur Cup after emerging as winners in the remaining quarter-finals at the Luxol Stadium on Sunday.

They also secure a place in the Preliminary Round of the Izibet FA Trophy. Marsaskala will be playing Sannat Lions while Zurrieq face St. Andrews.

In the first match, Marsaskala defeated Kalkara on penalties following a 1-1 draw at the end of the ninety minutes and extra-time.

Joseph Chetcuti put Marsaskala ahead on the 52nd minute but an own goal on the 69th restored equilibrium.

In the penalty shoot-out, Julian Spiteri, Dario Aquilina, Tyron Hili and Fabrizio Zammit scored for Marsaskala, Cedric Zahra, Andriy PIsani and Matthew Degiorgio scored for Kalkara. Matthew Vassallo and Mohamed Ahmad Ayoub missed the two penalties for Kalkara.

On the other hand, Zurrieq defeated Xghajra Tornados 4-0

Giovanni Galea put Zurrieq ahead eight minutes from the end of the first half Kurt Darmanin doubled the score on the 68th and in the dying minutes, Melvin Busuttil and Keith Muscat added another two goals on the 86th and the 90th respectively.