Izibet FA Trophy: Naxxar Lions through to Round of 32

Naxxar Lions secured a place in the Round of 32 of the Izibet FA Trophy after defeating San Gwann on penalties in a match from the Preliminary Round at the Centenary Stadium on Wednesday. Following a 1-1 draw at the end of the ninety minutes and extra-time, Naxxar beat San Gwann 6-5 in the penalty shoot-out.

In the next round, the Lions join Fgura United, Marsaxlokk, Melita, Pieta’ Hotspurs, St. Andrews. St. George’s, Tarxien Rainbows, Vittoriosa Stars and Zebbug Rangers, National Amateur League sides Marsaskala and Zabbar St. Patrick and Gozitan sides Nadur Youngsters and Xewkija Tigers; the teams who were awarded a bye, namely Luqa St. Andrew’s, Swieqi United, Marsa, Ghajnsielem, Pembroke Athleta and Zejtun Corinthians and the twelve Premier League clubs.

Substitute Skender Loshi put San Gwann ahead on the 73rd minute but Edson Cerqueira Farias levelled matters nine minutes from time. The game went into extra-time and with no goals being scored, the penalty shoot-out had to determine the winner.

In the penalty shoot-out, Naxxar scored six thanks to Ryan Gilmour Cassar, Mead Mifsud, Gabriel Xuereb, Neil Demanuele, Samuel Saldanha and Jean Leon Cassar while Nemanja Radojevic, Jake Micallef, Skender Loshi, Sjaak Kuyper and Ayrton Azzopardi scored for San Gwann. Kyle Bartolo missed the only penalty for San Gwann.