Thirteen clubs apply for UEFA licence

A total of 11 Premier League clubs and 2 Women’s League clubs have applied for a UEFA licence by the established deadline of 31st January 2022.  

The clubs that applied for the 2022/23 licence are: Balzan FC, Birkirkara FC, Floriana FC, Gżira United FC, Ħamrun Spartans FC, Hibernians FC, Mosta FC, Santa Lucia FC, Sirens FC, Sliema Wanderers FC, and Valletta FC.

Mgarr United FC and Birkirkara FC have submitted an application for a UEFA Women’s Licence. 

A UEFA licence is necessary for participation in the UEFA club competitions.

Malta will be represented once again by one club in the UEFA Champions League, three clubs in the UEFA Europa Conference League and one women’s team in the UEFA Women’s Champions League.