BOV National Amateur League: Zurrieq move top as Mtarfa beat Marsaskala

Zurrieq are the new sole leaders in Group B of the BOV National Amateur League after defeating Sta. Venera Lightnings 3-1 at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday.

Andre Joe Cutajar put Zurrieq ahead on the 73rd and Miguel Simiana doubled the score on the 81st. Four minutes later, Cutajar made it 3-0 with Yuya Emura pulling one back one minute from time.

At the Luxol Stadium, an own goal by Shawn Cesare on the 72nd handed Mtarfa a narrow win over Marsaskala.

Zurrieq lead the way with 26 points, followed by Marsaskala on 23, Mtarfa 22, Zabbar 19, Mellieha 10, Mdina and Qormi 9, Kirkop and Sta. Venera 8.

In Group A, Gharghur were held in a goaless draw by Siggiewi at the Luxol Stadium. Jean Scholey put Gharghur ahead on the 28th but Jean Leite Lopes equalised eight minutes in the second half.

Kalkara United joined Gharghur in second place after defeating Dingli Swallows 3-1 at the Centenary Stadium. Joao Azambuja Studart Orban put Kalkara ahead on the 8th minute. Jean Claude Cesare doubled the score on the 50th and although Andre Attard pulled one back on the 80th but Nathan Attard made it 3-1 on the 91st.

At the Sirens Stadium, Ta’ Xbiex defeated Xghajra Tornados 2-0 thanks to a penalty by Jurgen Sciriha on the 73rd and Shamison Farrugia on the 85th.

Attard lead the way with 25 points, followed by Gharghur and Kalkara on 23, Birzebbuga 17, Msida 16, Xghajra 13, Dingli 11, Ta’ Xbiex and Siggiewi 9, Ghaxaq 8. Attard had nine points deducted.