BOV National Amateur League: Gharghur, Marsaskala to cross swords in promotion decider

Gharghur and Marsaskala will be facing each other in the promotion decider after finishing second in the respective sections while the as the last matches from the BOV National Amateur League were played on Sunday.

Meanwhile in Round 1 of the Play-Offs, Kalkara United take on Mdina Knights while Msida St. Joseph face Mtarfa. Birzebbuga St. Peter’s and Zabbar St. Patrick, who finished third in the respective sections enter Round 2.

In Section A, Attard remained unbeaten as they defeated Ta’ Xbiex 2-0 at the Centenary Stadium courtesy of Nicholas Schembri on the 69th and Bledi Alla two minutes later.

Siggiewi held Msida St. Joseph in a 2-2 draw in another match at the Centenary Stadium. Daniel Claridge put Msida ahead on the 17th, Jean Leite Lopes equalised one minute from the end of the first half and although Claridge restored the lead on the 61st, an Agatino Sicali own goal restored equilibrium six minutes later.

At the Luxol Stadium, Ghaxaq defeated Dingli Swallows 5-1. Phiram Sakchai put Ghaxaq ahead on teh 5th, Ismael Cachia doubled the score on the 18th and Clive Fenech made it 3-0 just before half-time. Lian Sciberras exteneded the lead on the 51st and although Matthew Borg reduced the gap on the 67th, Sakchai made it 5-1 on the 70th.

Attard lead the way with 41 points, followed by Gharghur on 31, Birzebbuga 30, Kalkara 28, Msida 26, Xghajra 24, Ghaxaq 17, Siggiewi 15, Ta’ Xbiex 13 and Dingli 12. 

In Group B, Marsaskala secured second place thanks to a 2-0 win over Mdina Knights at the Luxol Stadium. An own goal on the 36th minute paved the way for the Southseasiders with Matthew Neilson Pulis sealing the issue with a goal four minutes from time.

On the other hand, Mtarfa defeated Kirkop United 3-1 at the Sirens Stadium. Mtarfa scored three within the first five minutes thanks to Ryan Sciberras on the 1st and the 5th and Alejandro Brincat on the 4th. Jake Buhagiar pulled one back on the 64th.

Zurrieq lead the way with 39 points, followed by Marsaskala 38, Zabbar on 35, Mtarfa 34, Mdina 18, Mellieha 13, Kirkop 11, Qormi 10 and Sta. Venera 9.