Devis Mangia names provisional squad for training camp ahead of June international window

National Team Head Coach Devis Mangia announced the provisional squad for a training camp between Wednesday 11th and Sunday 20th May, prior to the June international window.

Thirty three players were included in the squad for this training camp which should serve as preparation for the June international window during which Malta will be playing the first three games from the UEFA Nations League Group D2, facing San Marino away from home on June 5 before hosting Estonia on June 9 and San Marino on June 12.

Before these games, Malta is expected to play a friendly match at home against a non-European country on June 1.

Among the players selected in the squad is Floriana captain Matias Nicolas Garcia. The 25-year old Argentine-born defensive midfielder had moved to Malta in 2017 to join Senglea Athletic before moving to Floriana where he spent the last three years.

Foreign-based James Brown, Zach Muscat, Matthew Guillaumier, Teddy Teuma and Alex Satariano were all included in the squad but while the leagues for Guillaumier and Satariano are over, Muscat, Brown and Teuma should not be able to make it due to club commitments.

Teuma’s Union Saint Gilloise are currently on top the championship pool in Belgium; Brown’s St. Johnstone are still involved in the battle against relegation from the Scottish Premiership while Muscat’s Casa Pia are fighting from promotion from the Portuguese second division.

The players selected by Mangia are:

goalkeepers Henry Bonello (Hamrun), Cain Formosa (San Gwann), Jake Galea (Balzan), Matthew Grech (Pembroke);

defenders Ferdinando Apap (Hibs), Jean Borg (Valletta), Steve Borg (Hamrun), James Brown (St. Johnstone), Triston Caruana (Valletta), Karl Micallef (Hamrun), Zach Muscat (Casa Pia), Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara);

midfielders Cain Attard (Birkirkara), Ryan Camenzuli (Floriana), Juan Carlos Corbalan (Hamrun), Matias Nicolas Garcia (Floriana), Matthew Guillaumier (Siena), Adam Magri Overend (Floriana), Joseph Essien Mbong (Hamrun), Nikolai Muscat (Gzira), Brandon Diego Paiber (Floriana), Steven Pisani (Gzira), Teddy Teuma (Union St. Gilloise), Dunstan Vella (Hibs), Yannick Yankam (Birkirkara);

forwards Jan Busuttil (Floriana), Jurgen Degabriele (Hibs), Luke Gambin (Hamrun), Jake Grech (Hibs), Paul Mbong (Birkirkara), Alex Satariano (Pergolettese), Mattia Veselji (Floriana).