Assikura sponsorship for Women’s League, Knock-Out and Women’s Youth League and Knock-Out

The Malta Football Association has unveiled a new sponsor for the women’s competitions – Assikura Insurance Brokers PCC Limited.

This means that for the first time, the domestic women’s football competitions have a dedicated sponsor, adding further recognition to the progress achieved in this sector in recent years.

By virtue of this agreement, Assikura Insurance Brokers PCC Limited will be the official title sponsors of the following competitions for the next two seasons – Senior Women’s League, Senior Women’s Knock-Out, Women’s Youth League and Women’s Youth Knock-Out.

Photos courtesy of Mark Zammit Cordina

Addressing a news conference at the Centenary Hall on Tuesday afternoon, Dr Angelo Chetcuti, the Malta FA General Secretary, said this partnership attests to the improvement and growing popularity of women’s football in Malta thanks to the bold efforts and commitment of all the stakeholders involved in this sector.

“This is a show of trust and support in concrete terms from the part of Assikura, who have been reliable partners of ours for a number of years. It is a significant step to have a dedicated sponsor for women’s competitions, projecting a fresh identity which reflects the entire movement of women’s football, in which we have seen substantial progress.”

Dr Chetcuti praised the stakeholders who contribute to the women’s game, both within the Association and within clubs. “There are of course challenges and limitations throughout all levels and it is our duty to address them to the extent possible,” Dr Chetcuti added. “Yet, the Malta FA remains open and proactive to initiatives aimed at driving higher participation of girls.”

Lucienne Cini, Chief Operations Officer of Assikura Insurance Brokers PCC Limited, singled out the dedication and determination of the persons involved in women’s football as the principal factor behind the company’s decision to support this sector.

“The sense of dedication and determination to ensure the ongoing progress of women’s football in Malta, also at youth and academy level, was the primary reason that led Assikura Insurance Brokers PCC Limited to take up this significant commitment as the first sponsor dedicated to women’s football,” Cini said.

“We genuinely feel that this sector deserves more backing also in the context of our company’s willingness to strengthen our contribution to the wider society. While the senior women’s competitions generally attract greater attention, our support goes beyond this as we are essentially sponsoring all the main competitions, including the Women’s Youth League and KO.”


Pierre Brincat, Director of Women’s Football at the Malta FA, highlighted the ongoing projects and events aimed at promoting football among girls as part of the Association’s drive to keep increasing the participation figures from the grassroots right through the senior level.

“This agreement is another milestone in the development of women’s football in Malta,” Brincat said.

“This season, the department is consolidating various projects and initiatives to further support and sustain the growth of women’s football. In addition to extending the afterschools programme to middle schools, we will also embark on the second part of the successful UEFA Playmakers programme, enhance the fun fit football in schools and the girls’ academy winter sessions with the introduction of a new technical coordinator.”

In the domestic competitions, seven teams will participate in the 2022-23 Assikura Women’s League – Birkirkara, Hibernians, Mġarr United, Mtarfa, Raiders Lija, San Ġwann and Swieqi United. The championship kicks off on Tuesday, 20th September with champions Birkirkara taking on Swieqi United at the Centenary Stadium. On Wednesday (21st September), San Ġwann face Mġarr United at the Centenary Stadium and at the Mġarr Ground, Mtarfa play former champions Hibernians who are making a comeback in the women’s competitions.

Six teams have entered the Assikura Women’s Youth competitions, namely Birkirkara, Hibernians, Raiders Lija, San Ġwann, Swieqi United and a combined team representing Mġarr United, Mtarfa and Żebbuġ Rangers.