National Amateur League: Zabbar St. Patrick move top in Group A

Zabbar St. Patrick are the new leaders in Group A of the National Amateur League after defeating Sta. Venera Lightnings 2-1 at the Sirens Stadium.

Andre Joe Cutajar put Zabbar ahead on the 20th but Yuya Emura levelled matters for the Lightnings two minutes in the second half. However deep into stoppage time, Cutajar notched the winner for Zabbar.

Zabbar lead the way with 15 points, followed by Senglea on 13, Mgarr, Kalkara and Birzebbuga 7, Sta. Venera and Qormi 6, Xghajra 5, Mellieha and Pembroke 3 and Ta’ Xbiex 0.

Meanwhile in Group A, Rabat Ajax and St. George’s shared the spoils in a goalless draw at the Sirens Stadium.

Gharghur moved third thanks to a comfortable 4-0 win over Mdina Knights at the Luxol Stadium thanks to a Erik Pietribiasi hat-trick on the 25th, 55th and 71st (penalty) and a goal by Robert Ciantar on the 80th.

In another match at the Luxol Stadium, Siggiewi defeated Dingli Swallows 1-0, courtesy of Melchior Tonna on the 27th.

Msida lead the way with 11 points, followed by Rabat on 10, Gharghur 8, Ghaxaq and Siggiewi 7, St. George’s 6, Luqa 5, Dingli and Mdina 4 and Kirkop 2.

>> National Amateur League Fixtures, Results, Tables and Scorers