Luxol crowned Enemed Futsal Premier League champions

Luxol St. Andrew’s were crowned champions of Enemed Futsal Premier League for a fifth consecutive season as they beat Swieqi United 8-1 at the National Sports School Pavilion in the second final out of three.

The St. Andrews side had won the first final 8-2 on Wednesday and therefore Friday’s win assured them of the title. Gabriel Dobre’s side therefore confirmed its supremacy in recent years.

In this second game, Swieqi were missing several key players such as goalkeeper Brandon Debono and Emerson Molina who were suspended and the injured Michael Borg. They had a bold performance in the first half where they started to defend with all their might but in the second half they had to surrender against their opponent’s strength.

Luxol lacked the suspended Emil Raducu and the injured Andre Ciancio, Stefan Vella and Carl Azzopardi. They had a perfect second half as they scored two goals in 40 seconds and from there on, the game took another twist.

Mark Zammit, Everton Veve and Maicon scored two goals each with Ryan Marmara and Robert Stoyanov scoring the other two goals. Roller Santiago Cruz reduced the arrears for Swieqi.

After the game, FMA president Mark Borg presented the cup to captain Mark Zammit amidst the joy of the Luxol clan.

Referees: Clint Cassar, Jude Amin Utulu, Andrea Naudi.