Sliema Wanderers win IFF Youth Futsal League

Sliema Wanderers won the IFF Youth Futsal League as they saw off Birkirkara FC 12-11 with the contest which went extra-time and eventually the penalty shoot-out.

It was a match full of intense moments with the Stripes establishing a three-goal lead but with the Blues managed to level the score in the end to force extra-time.

In the extra-time, Birkirkara scored two more goals but Sliema were always on the ball and eventually the score at the end of extra-time was 6-6.

The match had to go to penalty shoot-out which Sliema won 6-5.

Zack Agius, Edward Nardelli, Jeaniro James, Anson Fenech, Juan Felipe Belfiore and Samuel Vassallo scored for Sliema with Luca Suda, Luke Spiteri and Dwayne Pullicino scoring two goals each for Birkirkara.

At the end of the contest, MFA vice-president Dr Matthew Paris presented the cup to Sliema Wanderers captain Samuel Camilleri.

Meanwhile, Marsaskala won the MFA Youth Futsal Challenger Cup after seeing off Pembroke Athleta 4-3.

The Sea Southsiders scored through an Ashton Lee Gouder’s brace with Diego Zammit and Mirko Gorlubovic adding more goals for their team. Pembroke reduced the score from Nick Stivala, Benjamin Bonello Ghio and an own goal by Dzmitry Staseu.