Viktoria Plzen prove too strong for Gzira United

Viktoria Plzen scored two in each half to beat Gzira United 4-0 in the first leg of the third qualifying round of the UEFA Europa Conference League at the Doosan Arena on Thursday.

The Czech side dominated throughout the ninety minutes and apart from scoring four goals, hit the woodwork on four occasions to practically seal qualification for the play-off round where they would be facing either FC Tobol Kostanay of Kazakhstan or Irish side Derry City FC.

Pavel Bucha put Viktoria Plzen ahead on the 10th minute with a cross shot from the left which beat goalkeeper David Cassar.

Viktoria Plzen doubled the score on the 23rd when following a good move, Sulc served Rafiu Durosinmi on the left and the latter slotted the ball home past Cassar.

The hosts maintained the pressure and Kalvach hit the foot of the upright with a shot from inside the area on the 36th. Two minutes later, Hejda was unlucky to hit the upright and hardly a minute later, it was Chory who hit the crossbar with a header following a cross from the right.  

Viktoria Plzen extended the lead on the 73rd minute when off a cross by Mosquera from the left, Pavel Sulc controlled the ball before slotting the ball past the Gzira goalkeeper.

Kliment was unlucky to hit the foot of the upright with a shot from inside the area on the 81st minute but four minutes in added time, Jan Kopic scored the fourth goal when he controlled a cross from the left by Traore and hit home past Cassar.

The second leg between Gzira and Viktoria Plzen will be played at the National Stadium on Thursday.

PLZEN Jindrich Staněk, Lukas Hejda, Robin Hranáč, Tomas Chorý, Rafiu Durosinmi (56′ Jan Kliment), Pavel Bucha (76′ Adam Vikanova), Cadu (76′ Jan Kopic), Lukas Kalvach, Pavel Šulc (75′ Ibrahim Traore), Erik Jirka (16′ Jhon Mosquera), Sampson Dweh.

GZIRA David Cassar, Carlos Chabá, Gabriel Bohrer Mentz, Zach Scerri (87′ Ewertton), Marcelo Dias, Farid Romero, Ryan Essaka (46′ Andy Borg), Brooklyn Borg (90+3′ Deyan Pace), Jose Wilkson Teixeira (79′ Hilario Azizi), Thiaguinho, Jackson Mendoza (79′ Luis Riascos).

Referee: Vilhjalmur Thorarinsson ISL
Assistant referees: Gylfi Mar Sigurdsson, Birkir Sigurdarson ISL
Fourth official: Helgi Mikael Jónasson ISL