Second-half goals hand Viktoria Plzen 2-0 win over Gzira United

Viktoria Plzen scored twice in the second half to beat Gzira United 2-0 at the National Stadium on Thursday in the second leg of the third qualifying round of the UEFA Europa Conference League. The Czech side, therefore, qualify for the next round thanks to a 6-0 aggregate score.

This defeat brings to an end the Maroons’ run in the UEFA Europa Conference League after they had eliminated Glentoran after the penalty shoot-out following a 2-2 draw at home and a 1-1 draw in Belfast and F91 Diddeleng thanks to a 2-0 win at home and a 1-2 defeat in Luxembourg in the previous two rounds.

On the other hand, Viktoria Plzen reach the play-off round where they would be facing either FC Tobol Kostanay of Kazakhstan or Irish side Derry City FC. Tobol Kostanay won the first leg at home 1-0.

Gzira managed to keep their opponents under control during the first half and went even close to taking the lead on the 36th minute when following a good move by Marcelo Dias, Lucas Macula’s effort from the edge of the area was turned into a corner by goalkeeper Martin Jedlicka.

Three minutes later, Viktoria Plzen replied with a close range header by Ibrahim Traore which was blocked by David Cassar.

Viktoria Plzeň took the lead one minute in the second half when off a cross from the right by Paluska, Mosquera headed the ball down and Ibrahim Traore hit low past Cassar.

Four minutes later, the visitors almost doubled the score but Libor Holik was unlucky to hit the crossbar with a shot from inside the area. 

Viktoria Plzeň doubled the score on the 70th minute with a diagonal shot from the right from outside the area by Adam Vlkanova following a deflection by Marcelo Dias and an assist by Durosinmi and a pass by Kliment.

GZIRA David Cassar, Carlos Chaba (65′ Bilario Azizi), Gabriel Bohrer Mentz, Andy Borg, Zachary Scerri (90′ Hytem Kabar), Marcelo Dias, Lucas Macula (89′ Mohamed Alouzi), Luis Riascos (73′ Jose Wilkson Teixeira), Farid Romero Zuniga, Brooklyn Borg (90′ Izaak Ellul), Thiaguinho.

VIKTORIA PLZEN Martin Jedlička, Robin Hranáč, Jan Paluska, Jan Kliment (78′ Jan Kopic), Ibrahim Traoré (63′ Pavel Bucha), Jhon Mosquera, Vaclav Jemelka (62′ Rafiu Durosinmi), Lukas Kalvach (72′ Sampson Dweh), Pavel Šulc, Libor Holik, Adam Vlkanova.

Referee: Denys Shurman UKR
Assistant referees: Semen Shlonchak, Volodymyr Vysotskyi UKR
Fourth official: Dmytro Panchyshyn UKR