Ta’ Xbiex and University of Malta ACJ Group keep momentum

Ta’ Xbiex Futsal and the University of Malta maintained their perfect record in the Enemed Futsal League when they achieved their fourth win from as many matches.

Luxol were not in action due to their commitments in the UEFA Futsal Champions League and were joined by ZRQ Bormla won their game so that they have now climbed to third place in the table.

University of Malta ACJ dominated their match against the Malta Under-19 national team, winning 9-1. Prolific scorer Cleavon Portelli scored a hat-trick while Aaron Montebello and Leo Muscat netted a brace apiece. Steven Camilleri and Paul Scerri scored the other goals for UoM. Robert Malool Mustafa scored the only goal for the Under-19s.

Photos: Copyright Nicholas Falzon

Ta’ Xbiex beat neighbours Sliema Wanderers Futsal 6-1. The winners had a perfect first half where they scored five goals and went on to administer the second half, increasing the score. Liam Caruana hit the target twice and Redeemer Borg, Bernardo Rosa, Matthias Camilleri and Ryan Debono scored the other goals. The Blues reduced the margin of the score by Wallace Oliveira Santos.

ZRQ Bormla had a comfortable 11-1 victory against Gzira United Santa Margherita. The Cottonera side were dominant over their opponents with Gabriel Ghigo, Jovica Milijic and Karl Sciortino helping themsevles with two goals each. Rodrigues da Silva, Claudio Venuto, Karl Luke Schembri, Dylan Musu and Mohamed Elamari scored for ŻRQ Bormla. The Maroons scored the consolation goal through Yessous Camilleri.

In the clash between the Southerners, Birżebbuġa St Peter’s beat Marsaskala Futsal 6-4 in an entertaining game. Despite being 3-2 down, the Birżebbuġa side remained concentrated and managed to turn the score in their favour. Kieran Debono and Shataizan Zarb scored twice each with Julien Bollard and Alexei Saliba adding their names to the scorers. Marsaskala scored through Alessio Restuccia, Amir Ashtiyani, Zemkin Seisun and an own goal by Owen Galea.


Ta’ Xbiex, University of Malta ACJ 12, ŻRQ Bormla, Luxol 10, Luxol 7, Swieqi, Birżebbuġa 6, Sliema Wanderers, Malta U19 4, Birżebbuġa St Peter’s, Gżira United Santa Margerita 3, Malta U18, Marsaskala, Santa Venera Lightnings 0