Holders Birkirkara through to IZIBET FA Trophy quarter-finals after extra-time

Birkirkara, Floriana, Marsaxlokk and Mosta secured a place in the quarter-finals of the IZIBET FA Trophy as they emerged as winners in the four matches from the Round of 16 which were played on Tuesday.

Floriana were the first team to make it to the next stage after defeating Challenge League side Zebbug Rangers 7-1 at the Centenary Stadium. 

The Greens, who had eliminated Naxxar Lions in the previous round, took the lead on the 31st minute courtesy of Owen Spiteri but just before the end of the first half, Duvan Mosquera Torres equalised. 

Kemar Reid restored the lead twelve minutes in the second half and three minutes later, Matias Garcia made it 3-1. Kyrian Nwoko extended the the lead on the 62nd and Reid completed his hat-trick with goals on the 70th and 75th. Christos Rovas scored Floriana’s seventh thirteen minutes from time.

At the Tony Bezzina Stadium, Birkirkara defeated ten-man Sirens 1-0 after extra-time.

Birkirkara, who had eliminated Attard in the previous round, could have taken the lead just before the end of the first half when they were awarded a penalty but Andrei Ciolacu hit wide from the penalty spot.

With the score still goalless, the game went into extra-time and it was substitute Omar Elouni who finally managed to break the deadlock six minutes in the second half of extra-time.

Sirens had Hasan Gomda sent off just before the end of regular time.

In another match at the Tony Bezzina Stadium, Mosta defeated Valletta 2-1.

The Blues, who had eliminated Pieta’ Hotspurs 5-1 in the previous round took the lead thanks to a goal by Maximillian Ugochukwu Ihekuna on the 16th minute and on the 33rd minute, Chidera Henry Nwoga doubled the score. Diego Cardoso Nogueira pulled one back on the 73rd.

At the Centenary Stadium, last season’s finalists, Marsaxlokk, who had defeated Zejtun Corinthians 5-0 in the Round of 32, beat another Challenge League side Swieqi United 3-0.

Yuri de Jesus Messias put the Southseasiders ahead on the 26th minute and Sunday Akinbule scored twice on the 52nd and on the hour to make it 3-0.

On Wednesday, Gzira United cross swords with Hibernians, Sliema Wanderers face Balzan while Santa Lucia take on Amateur League side Mgarr United. The last match from the Round of 16 is the clash between Hamrun Spartans and Gudja United on Thursday.

Wed 7-Feb-2024Gzira United FC vs Hibernians FC18:00National Stadium
Wed 7-Feb-2024Santa Lucia FC vs Mgarr United FC20:15Centenary Stadium
Wed 7-Feb-2024Sliema Wanderers FC vs Balzan FC20:30National Stadium
Thu 8-Feb-2024Hamrun Spartans FC vs Gudja United FC20:15Centenary Stadium

The Quarter Finals are scheduled for March 30 and April 1, the Semi Finals on May 11 and 12 and the Final on May 18.

>> IZIBET FA Trophy Fixtures & Results