Sliema Wanderers through to IZIBET FA Trophy semi-finals after penalty shoot-out

Sliema Wanderers defeated Mosta 4-3 on penalties In another quarter-final of the IZIBET FA Trophy at the Tony Bezzina Stadium on Saturday.

Mosta forged ahead but Sliema equalised to force extra-time. The Wanderers took the lead in extra-time but Mosta notched the equaliser and in the penalty shoot-out, Sliema scored four and Mosta three to make it to the semi-finals.

To reach this stage, Mosta had beat Pieta’ Hotspurs 5-1 and Valletta 2-1 while Sliema Wanderers defeated Marsaskala 3-0 and Balzan 1-0 after extra-time.

In the penalty shoot-out, Mohamed Awad scored for Sliema and Precious Linus Tenebe missed his attempt. Lydon Micallef scored for Sliema and Jean Paul Farrugia made no mistake for Mosta; Neil Frendo scored for the Wanderers and Sasha Cachia scored for Mosta. Gustavo Alcino and Willie Dagou Britto scored as well. Geoffrey Acheampong missed for Sliema but so did Nathan Agius for the Wanderers to emerge as winners.

Mosta: 22-David Udoh Akpan, 3-Thomas Tegwi, 4-Gustavo Adolfo Chara Valois (6-Nathan Obidike 81), 5-Sasha Cachia, 8-Damian Aneni Evans, 10-Precious Linus Tenebe, 11-Christsian Ndubisi Nnaji (18-Armen Hovnahhnisyan 46), 20-Willie Britto, 27-Jamie Scerri (15-Owen Sammut 100), 77-Zachary Brincat (9-Henry Chidera Nwoga 81), 92-Kevin Tulimieri (21-Nathan Agius 69)

Sleima W.: 22-Rashed Al Tumi, 2-Jean Borg, 6-Joseph Marie Minala, 9-Vito Plut (Jake Engerer 100), 11-Myles Beerman, 13-James Arthur (77-Mohamed Awad 46), 15-Gustavo Alcino, 18-Edmond Agius (21-Neil Frendo 75), 20-Denis Kouao, 31-Henrique Murilo (70-Lydon MIcallef 46), 33-Geoffrey Edwin Acheampong

Referee: Fyodor Zammit
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Vasil Vasilev
Fourth Official: Emanuel Grech

>> IZIBET FA Trophy Fixtures & Results

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.