Four Division 3 clubs reach National League 100 Anniversary Cup third round

Four Third Division clubs – Naxxar Lions, Qrendi, Zejtun and Siggiewi – are among the twelve teams who reached the third round of the National League 100 Anniversary Cup. 
Naxxar Lions beat Second Division side Senglea Athletic 2-0, Zejtun Corinthians defeated Attard 3-0, Siggiewi beat Luqa St. Andrew’s 3-1 while Qrendi beat Kalkara 4-2 on penalties following a goalless draw at the end of the ninety minutes.
Mellieha registered the most impressive win in the second round as they defeated Mdina Knights 8-0. In another four clashes between teams from Second Division and others from the Third Division, Gozo beat Marsa 2-1, St. Andrews defeated Mgarr United 3-1, Gharghur beat Kirkop United 2-0 while Zurrieq beat Xghajra Tornados 3-0 on penalties following a 1-1 draw.
The other three second round matches put against each other teams from Division 2 against each other. Lija Athletic and Zebbug Rangers registered narrow wins over Gzira United 2-1 and St. Venera Lightnings 1-0 respectively. On the other hand, Birzebbuga St. Peter’s beat Rabat Ajax 4-2 on penalties following a 1-1 draw.
Gozo, St. Andrews, Birzebbuga, Zebbug, Naxxar, Lija, Zurrieq, Gharghur, Qrendi, Zejtun, Siggiewi and Mellieha join the ten Premier League clubs and the ten First Division clubs in the third round of the competition. Third round matches will be played between Friday 6th and Monday 9th November.