Nine Premier League players suspended

Nine Premier League players were handed a one-match ban after the Premier League matches which were played over the weekend and the National League 100 Anniversary Cup final.

Valletta midfielder Edmond Agius was banned after being sent off in the National League 100 Anniversary Cup final while Floriana’s Stefan Lijeskic and Stefano Grima, Hamrun’s Gaetan Spiteri and Ian Zammit, Msida’s Adrian Farrugia and Kurt Grech, Sliema’s Clifford Gatt Baldacchino and Valletta’s Jamie Pace.

Gatt Baldacchino is ruled out of the game Sliema vs Tarxien on Thursday. Lijeksic, Grima, Farrugia and Grech will be missing the game Msida vs Floriana. while Spiteri and Zammit are ruled out of Hamrun vs Dingli. Pace will be missing the game Valletta vs Hibs.

In Division 1, Jonathan Francica and Roderick Farrugia (Balzan), Matthias Fenech (Melita), Christian Grech (St. George’s), Matthew Fleri Soler (St. Patrick) and Kurt Formosa (Vittoriosa) were all banned for one match.

Clive Formosa (Birzebbuga), Chris Vella (Gharghur), Joseph Felice (Gzira), Darren Bellizzi and Julian Azzopardi (Zurrieq) were handed a one-match ban in Division 2.

In Division 3, Fgura United official Stephen Plumpton was banned for four matches while three Fgura players Carl Calvagna, Mark Drago and Melvin Pisani were banned for two matches. Martin Briffa and Sharlon Bugeja (Qrendi) and Reuben Grech (Zejtun) were suspended for one match.

In the Youth League, Neil Scerri (Lija), Michael Cachia and Steve Micallef (Melita), Eman Grech (Mgarr), David Caruana and Keith Fedele (Pietà) and Keith Gauci (Rabat) were handed a one-match ban.