Marsascala FC admitted to Division 3

Twenty-one teams will be taking part in the Third Division League 2010/2011 after the Council of the Malta Football Association approved the applications by Kalkara FC, Santa Lucia FC and Marsascala FC to take part next season.

Marsascala FC are a new club which was set-up earlier this year. Addressing the Council, MFA president Dr Joe Mifsud said the commission which analyses the applications by new clubs willing to take part in its competitions, which is made up of MFA senior vice-president Carmelo Bartolo, vice-president Dr Peter Fenech and Joe Micallef, met the ten-man committee of Marsascala FC earlier this month.

The club has its own premises and a group of around twenty-five players who have been training for the past two months. The commission noticed that there is particular enthusiasm within the committee and within the community in Marsascala. For this reason, the commission recommended to the Executive Committee to accept the application of Marsascala FC.

The Executive Committee accepted and recommended to the Council to accept Marsascala’s application and also that of Kalkara and Santa Lucia.

Kalkara and Santa Lucia, both ended their commitments at the bottom of Sections A and B respectively and therefore had to re-apply to take part in Division 3.