Buttigieg names 19-man squad for Croatia EURO 2012 qualifier

Malta national coach John Buttigieg named a nineteen-man squad ahead of next Wednesday’s EURO 2012 Group F qualifier against Croatia in Zagreb.

Buttigieg dropped goalkeepers Mario Muscat and Anthony Curmi, Birkirkara midfielder Trevor Cilia and Floriana striker Christian Caruana. Cilia was recovering from an injury.

For this game, central defender Andrei Agius who plays for Melfi in the Italian Lega Pro Seconda Divisione and Hibernians striker Andrew Cohen are both unavailable as they were banned for one game after collecting a second yellow card.

The nineteen players selected by Buttigieg are:
Andrew Hogg – Valletta FC
Justin Haber – Ferencvaros TC

Edward Herrera – Hibernians FC
Massimo Grima – Hamrun Spartans FC
Jonathan Caruana – Valletta FC
Joseph Zerafa – Birkirkara FC
Carlo Mamo – Marsaxlokk FC

Roderick Briffa – Valletta FC
John Hutchinson – Central Coast Mariners
Jamie Pace – Valletta FC
Gareth Sciberras – Marsaxlokk FC
Paul Fenech – Birkirkara FC
Ryan Fenech – Hamrun Spartans FC
Shaun Bajada – Birkirkara FC
Kevin Sammut – Valletta FC

Daniel Bogdanovic – Sheffield United FC
Andre` Schembri – Ferencvaros TC
Michael Mifsud – no club
Ivan Woods – Floriana FC

The squad leaves Malta for Croatia on Sunday morning at 9:25.

Photo: Copyright © www.stephengatt.com