Gowl G?all-Istrina 2010 all-stars game

A special All Stars match with the participation of the top local and foreign players from the BOV Premier League will this year be the highlight of the second edition of GOWL G?ALL-ISTRINA.

The event will be held on Tuesday 21st December, 2010 at the Hibernians Stadium. All proceeds from this event will go towards the annual fund-raising fixture, L-iStrina. The organising committee, chaired by ?or? Micallef, includes representatives from the Malta Football Association, the Premier League Standing Committee, the Youth FA and REPLAY, NET TV’s weekly football show.

The event will bring together most partners involved in local football and at the same time help raise much-needed money in aid of L-iStrina. The All Stars match to kick off at 19:30 will be preceded by ten 7 v 7 exhibition matches on small pitches with the participation of all the ten Premier League Clubs’ Under 11 Nursery teams.

“What makes this initiative even more special is the fact that participants will raise money themselves through individual sponsors within their respective Premier League clubs”, said Mr ?or? Micallef. Youth Nurseries will also make their own contributions. Furthermore all proceeds from an auction of all the Premier League team’s shirts signed by the entire squad will be held during this Sunday’s edition of Replay on NET TV. Bidding will start at €50 for each shirt.

Entrance for the Gowl G?all-iStrina 2010 is free but the crowd present can make their donation in what promises to be a grand spectacle for the whole family. The organisers hope that businesses will also play a key role to maximise the sum collected.

MFA CEO, Bjorn Vassallo, also addressed the press conference. He said that the Malta Football Association gave their full backing and support to this initiative since it helped to raise more funds for the iStrina campaign while at the same time encouraged all Premier League clubs to work in unison with the organisers to hold a special event with the participation of the crème de la crème of Premier League football. Captain Mark Mallia and Marica Mizzi, on behalf of L-iStrina 2010, also addressed the press conference. While praising the organisers for the initiative, they encouraged the sporting public to attend this special event and help raise more money in aid of iStrina 2010. They also announced that His Excellency the President of the Republic would meet the participants and kick-off the All Stars match.

Birkirkara and Valletta mentors, Paul Zammit and Jesmond Zerafa will team up to lead the local selection while Hibernians’ Mark Miller and Floriana’s Todor Raykov will guide the foreign players’ team. The Maltese team will include among their ranks current Footballer of the Year, Shaun Bajada and other international players such as Andrew Cohen, Roderick Briffa, Massimo Grima, Jonathan Caruana, Ivan Woods, Gareth Sciberras, Andrew Hogg, Carlo Mamo and Ryan Fenech. Top foreign talent on parade will include Denni dos Santos, Daniel Mariano Bueno, Alfred Effiong, Jorge Santos Silva, Paul McManus, Marcelo Pereira, Jackson Lima and Everton Pereira. FIFA officials have been appointed for this match. TeamSporT are the official technical sponsors for this event.

Compères for the night will be Ronald Briffa, Sarah Agius and Enzo Guzman. The latter together with Thea Garrett will be also entertaining the crowd present prior to the All Stars Match. This event is supported by AS Hibernians, General Soft Drinks Ltd, Sound Solutions Ltd, Best Print Co Ltd, Konica Minolta and International Merchants Co Ltd.

Photos: Copyright © Joe Borg – Fgura

The teams:

Local Selection

Jonathan Caruana Valletta
Roderick Briffa Valletta
Andrew Hogg Valletta
Michael Galea B’Kara
Paul Fenech B’Kara
Shaun Bajada B’Kara
Josef Mifsud Sliema W
Steve Bezzina Sliema W
Mario Muscat Hibernians
Edward Herrera Hibernians
Andrew Cohen Hibernians
Ryan Fenech Hamrun S
Massimo Grima Hamrun S
Stefan Giglio Qormi
George Mallia Qormi
Carlo Mamo Marsaxlokk
Gareth Sciberras Marsaxlokk
Ivan Woods Floriana
Brian Said Floriana
Christian Caruana Floriana
Jeffrey Chetcuti Vittoriosa S
Steve Wellman Vittoriosa S
Manuel Caruana Tarxien R
Justin Grioli Tarxien R

Coaches: Paul Zammit & Jesmond Zerafa
Team Manager: Stefan Sultana
Kit Manager: Marlon Galea
Physio: Aaron Saliba

Foreign Selection

Denni Dos Santos Valletta
Ramon Dos Santos Valletta
Joseph Okonkwo Valletta
Everton Pereira Tarxien R
Daniel Mariano Bueno Tarxien R
Luca Lodetti Marsaxlokk
Alfred Effiong Marsaxlokk
Emil Yanchev Marsaxlokk
Julio Alcorse Marsaxlokk
Jorge Santos Silva Vittoriosa S
Edison Luiz dos Santos Vittoriosa S
Anthony Ewurum Vittoriosa S
Carlos Campagnoli Vittoriosa S
Pablo Doffo Floriana
Kang Hojung Qormi
Matthew Clarke Hibernians
Paul McManus Hibernians
Zoran Levniac Hibernians
Paolo Sereno Hibernians
Sekou Tidiane Souare Sliema W
Ini Etim Aktpan Sliema W
Jackson Lima Sliema W
Marcelo Pereira Hamrun S
Martin Hrubsa Hamrun S

Coaches: Mark Miller & Todor Raykov
Team Manager: John Vella
Kit Manager: Joseph Micallef
Physio: Cedric Sciberras