Four local clubs in UEFA competitions as from 2012/13

UEFA have confirmed that as from 2012/13, Malta will be once again represented by four clubs in the European competitions – one in the UEFA Champions League and three in the UEFA Europa League.

The champions will take part in the UEFA Champions League while the runners-up and the third-placed will take part in the UEFA Europa League together with the FA Trophy winner.

Last summer and next summer, Malta was and will be represented by three clubs after falling to 52nd in the UEFA Country Ranking. Malta will be ranked 48th for 2012/13.

The Malta Football Association announced that six clubs were granted a UEFA Licence, namely Qormi, Sliema, Floriana, Birkirkara, Marsaxlokk and Valletta. Another three clubs withdrew their application.

Therefore as for next summer, Birkirkara will be the second team to qualify for the UEFA Europa League besides Premier League runners-up Floriana, no matter which teams reach the final of the FA Trophy.

Should Birkirkara beat Floriana to reach the final, the Stripes would qualify for European football through the FA Trophy. On the other hand, if Floriana win, the Greens would qualify for the UEFA Europa League through the FA Trophy and Birkirkara would qualify through the third place in the Premier League.

The first qualifying round of the UEFA Champions League will be played on June 28/29 and July 5/6 while that of the UEFA Europa League on June 30 and July 7.

The second qualifying rounds will be played as follows: Champions League on July 12/13 and July 19/20 and Europa League on July 14 and 21.