BOV Third Division: Gharghur Champions

Malcolm Tirchett was the hero for Gharghur as they were declared champions of the BOV Third Division. In the Championship Decider, Gharghur came from behind to defeat Siggiewi 3-2 after extra-time.

It was a most dramatic win for Gharghur as Section A winners Siggiewi were leading 2-0 thanks to goals by Jason Camilleri on 63 minutes and Ahmed Mohamed Harun on the 80th. However two goals in the dying minutes – on the 90th and 92nd – by Tirchett enabled Gharghur to notch the equaliser and force extra-time.

Tirchett scored once again five minutes in the first half of extra-time to hand Gharghur the title.

After the game, MFA Treasurer Antoine Portelli and Bank of Valletta Manager Marketing Charles Azzopardi presented the trophy to the Gharghur captain.

Photos: Copyright ©

[nggallery id=237]

Photo courtesy of Bank of Valletta