The GO Malta Football Awards: Finalists of the 10th Edition announced

The Organising Committee of the 10th Edition of The GO Malta Football Awards announced the finalists of this year’s edition, which will be held on Wednesday 25th May at the MFCC in Ta’ Qali.

The Award for The Best Goal of the Season and the Award for the Best Save of the Season are completely in the hands of the general public via a TELEVOTING number associated with each goal and save. There is no restriction to the number of calls and calls can be made from any local mobile phone or landline local network. Each call costs €1.

The GO Malta Football Awards is going to be broadcast live on the National Station TVM and it’s going to be hosted by three local sports journalists – Simon Farrugia, Catherine Micallef and Rodney Vassallo. Later on during the week, one can even watch a repeat of this event on GO Sports Channel.

Sandro Micallef, Chairman of the Organising Commitee commented that he is very satisfied with the response of those entitled to vote as the majority of the votes awere received on time so that the three finalists out of each category could be determined.

For the traditional BOV Premier League Awards, the 10 Premier League Presidents, the 10 Coaches and the 10 Captains of each team were entitled to vote together with approximately 60 sports journalists, sports tv producers, football commentators and football photo reporters.

Also, Presidents, Coaches and Captains in the categories of the First, Second, Third Division, GFA 1st Division, Women’s League and Futsal had the right to vote together with the few journalists who follow these leagues.

As announced in the Press Conference earlier last month, the category for the Best Referee Award was voted for by only journalists as per agreement the Malta Football Association.

This year, football enthusiasts and the general public has the chance to be present for the event by buying tickets via the internet site Each ticket costs €15 and the ticket gives access to the holder for the after party organised at the MFCC.

For more details about this year’s edition one can visit or The Malta Football Awards facebook page.

SEASON 2010/11
Best Third Division Player
? Lee Baldacchino Luqa SA FC
? Jason Camilleri Si??iewi FC
? Juan Galdes Marsaskala FC

Best Second Division Player
? Adrian Carabott ?ejtun C.
? Adam Smeir Rabat A.
? Timmy Thomas ?ebbu? R.

Best First Division Player
? Pedro Calcado Balzan Y.
? Gilbert Martin Mosta FC
? John Paul Muscat Mqabba FC

Best Female Player (1st Division)
? Ylenia Carabott Hibernians FC
? Antoinette Sammut M?arr FC
? Dorianne Theuma Mosta FC

Best GFA Player (1st Division)
? Chris Camilleri Sannat Lions
? John Camilleri Sannat Lions
? Adrian Parnis Sannat Lions

Best Futsal Player (1st Division)
? Florin Anton ZC Excess
? Jovica Milijic Paola Downtown
? Carlos Scicluna ZC Excess

Most Promising Youngster
? Leighton Grech Vittoriosa S.
? Rowen Muscat Birkirkara FC
? Bjorn Kristensen Hibernians FC

Best Goalkeeper
? Omar Borg ?amrun S.
? David Cassar Tarxien R.
? Andrew Hogg Valletta FC

Best Defender
? Steve Borg Valletta FC
? Jonathan Caruana Valletta FC
? Jason Lee Vandelannoite Qormi FC

Best Midfielder
? Roderick Briffa Valletta FC
? Paul Fenech Birkirkara FC
? Ryan Fenech Valletta FC

Best Save of the Season
? 5230 2031: Simon Agius – Vittoriosa S. Vs Birkirkara FC
? 5230 2032: Omar Borg – ?amrun S. vs Vittoriosa S.
? 5230 2033: David Cassar – Tarxien R. vs Floriana FC
? 5230 2034: Matthew Farrugia – Qormi FC vs Marsaxlokk
? 5230 2035: Andrew Hogg – Valletta vs Floriana
? 5230 2036: Lotfi Saidi – Floriana FC vs Sliema

Best Coach
? Noel Coleiro Tarxien R.
? Paul Zammit Birkirkara FC
? Jesmond Zerafa Valletta FC

Best Striker
? Alfred Effiong Marsaxlokk FC
? Daniel Nwoke Floriana FC
? Terrence Scerri Valletta FC

Best Veteran Player
? Gilbert Agius Valletta FC
? David Camilleri ?amrun S.
? Brian Said Floriana FC

Best Referee
? Christopher Lautier
? Clayton Pisani
? Alan Mario Sant

Best Goal of the Season
? 5230 2021: Edmund Agius – Valletta FC vs ?amrun S.
? 5230 2022: Dyson Falzon – ?amrun S. vs Valletta FC
? 5230 2023: Ryan Fenech – Valletta FC vs Sliema W.
? 5230 2024: Cleavon Frendo – Qormi FC vs Hibernians FC
? 5230 2025: Michael Galea – Birkirkara FC vs Sliema W. (U*Bet FA Trophy Q/F)
? 5230 2026: Sergio Pacheco de Oliveira – Tarxien R. vs Floriana

Best Foreign Player
? Denni Rocha Dos Santos Valletta FC
? Daniel Nwoke Floriana FC
? Sergio Pacheco de Oliveira Tarxien R.

Best Maltese Player
? Gilbert Agius Valletta FC
? Roderick Briffa Valletta FC
? Ryan Fenech Valletta FC