GO Malta Football Awards: Eight awards for Valletta players

Champions Valletta claimed eights of the awards at stake in the tenth edition of the GO Malta Football Awards which was held on Wednesday at the Malta Fairs and Conventions Centre, Ta’ Qali.

Roderick Briffa was voted Best Local Player and Best Midfielder with Brazilian striker Denni Rocha Dos Santos being voted Best Foreign Player for the second successive year.

Andrew Hogg and Jonathan Caruana were voted Best Goalkeeper and Best Defender respectively while Gilbert Agius claimed the Best Veteran Player award. Coach Jesmond Zerafa won the award for Best Coach.

Edmund Agius on the award for the Best Goal of the Season for a goal in the game against ?amrun Spartans.

The other awards related to the Premier League went to Floriana’s Daniel Nwoke who was voted Best Forward and Birkirkara’s Rowen Muscat who was voted Most Promising Youngster.

Omar Borg won the award for the Best Save of the Season for a save in the game between ?amrun S. and Vittoriosa S.

Birkirkara FC, on the other hand, were presented with the Special Award for being the team which won most honours over the past ten years.

Referee Alan Mario Sant was voted Best Referee.

Mosta striker Gilbert Martin was voted Best First Division Player, Adam Smeir of Rabat Ajax Best Second Division Player and Lee Baldacchino of Luqa St. Andrew’s Best Third Division Player.

Dorianne Theuma (Mosta) and Antoinette Sammut (Mgarr United) shared the award for Best Player in the Women’s First Division.

Player-coach Florin Anton of ZC Excess was voted Best Player in the Futsal First Division while Sannat Lions goalkeeper Adrian Parnis, who also forms part of the Malta Under-21 national team, was voted Best Gozo FA First Division Player.

Former international referee Adrian Casha won the special Award for the Career.

The event was presented by Simon Farrugia, Catherine Micallef and Rodney Vassallo. Entertainment was provided by Red Electrick and Zumba Malta while young footballer Ivan Veselji gave a short football juggling display.

MFA Chief Executive Bjorn Vassallo and Parliamentary Secretary for Youth and Sport Clyde Puli, who were among the distinguished guests for the event, delivered speeches.