Member Associations Tournament 2011

The Member Associations within the Malta Football Association have recently set up a Standing Committee to tackle better the common problems that arise during the season.

The Member Associations that form part of this committee are: Inter Amateur Soccer Competitions (IASC), Industries Sports Association (ISA), Malta Amateur Football Association (MAFA), Malta Employees Soccer Association (MESA), Malta Hotels & Restaurants Association (MHRA) and the District Football League which includes SWAN Amateur Football Malta (SWAN) and GIDA Amateur Football Malta (GIDA).

To mark this occasion, the Standing Committee with the full approval of the mother association, the MFA, is organising a unique tournament between the Member Associations that shall be staged on three days, commencing on the 1st June 2011 and the Final match on Friday, 3rd June 2011.

All matches shall be played on an 11-a-side basis with a 35 minute each half.

The Tournament shall take place at the Centenary Stadium and fixtures are as follows:

Wednesday 1st June
18:00 GIDA vs MESA
19:15 IASC vs SWAN
20:45 MHRA vs ISA

Thursday 2nd June
18:30 GIDA or MESA vs IASC or SWAN
19:45 MHRA or ISA vs MAFA

Friday 3rd June
18:30 Final

Such a Tournament was never organised in Malta that brings all the Member Associations together and this will be a first in its kind, hoping that this will become an Annual event.

The Standing Committee is made up of: President Mr Lino Bartolo (SWAN); Secretary Mr Robert Massa (ISA); Treasurer Mr Daniel Camilleri (SWAN); Vice President Mr Donald Spiteri (IASC); Ass. Secretary Mr Mario Meli (MESA) and members Mr Joe Cassar Naudi (MHRA), Mr Twanny Agius (MAFA), Mr Franz Tabone (GIDA), Mr Rudolph Rossignaud (GIDA) and Mr Jean Pierre Mifsud (MESA).