Greece coach names squad for EURO 2012 qualifier

Greece coach Fernando Santos named a twenty-man squad for next week’s EURO 2012 qualifier against Malta at the Georgios Karaiskakis Stadium in Piraeus, Athens.

The squad includes three uncapped players, namely goalkeeper Dimitrios Konstantopolos, defender Kyriakos Papadopoulos and striker Stefanos Athanasiadis.

Goalkeeper Giorgios Tzavellas, Sokratis Papastathopoulos, Giorgios Samaras and Nikos Liberopoulos who were all part of the starting line-up in the game against Malta last March were not included. Papastathopoulos is serving a suspension after being sent off six minutes from time when the score was still goalless. Greece notched the winner two minutes in added time thanks to Vassilis Torossidis.

Greece lead Group F with eleven points with three wins and two draws from five matches, one ahead of Croatia and Israel and two ahead of Georgia.

The squad is made up of:
goalkeepers Stefanos Kotsolis (Panathinaikos), Dimitrios Konstantopolis (Kerkyra);
defenders Avraam Papadopoulos (Olympiakos), Loukas Vyntra (Panathinaikos), Evangelos Moras (Bologna), Vassilios Torosidis (Olympiakos), Nikolaos Spyropoulos (Panathinaikos), Kyriakos Papadopoulos (Schalke);
midfielders Konstantinos Katsouranis (Panathinaikos), Georgios Kragounis (Panathinaikos), Pantelis Kafes (AEK), Sotirios Ninis (Panathinaikos), Panagiotis Kone (Brescia), Georgios Fotakis (PAOK), Alexandros Tziolis (Racing Santander);
forwards Dimitrios Salpigidis (PAOK), Ioannis Fetfatzidis (Olympiakos), Konstantinos Mitroglou (Panionios), Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (Panathaniaikos), Stefanos Athanasiadis (PAOK).

The match will be played on June 4th at the Georgios Karaiskakis Stadium, kick-off at 21:30 local time (20:30 Malta time).

Photo: Copyright ©