New committee for Lija Athletic — Marco Gerada confirmed as coach

Lija Athletic F.C. held their Annual General Meeting on Sunday 19th June at the Club’s premises.

The new administrative committee for the forthcoming season was elected by the members, whereby Mr. Charles J. Scerri was confirmed as President for the fourteenth consecutive year. Samuel Cutajar and Suzette Camilleri were both confirmed as Hon. Secretary and Hon. Treasurer respectively.

David Formosa and Emanuel Bezzina are the Club’s Vice-Presidents, while Jeremy Dalli was nominated as the Club’s Public Relations Officer.

The other members elected in the committee are the following: Carmelo Bonnici (Assistant Secretary), Saviour Sammut (Assistant Treasurer), Lawrence Borg (Team Manager), Louis Fenech (Club Director), Sunny Scerri, William Mintoff, John Bugeja, Jesmond Caruana and Robert Magro. The latter three have been elected for the first time in a Lija Athletic F.C. committee.

President, Charles J. Scerri, was also nominated as a Council member of the Malta F.A.

As in recent years, the Lija Athletic committee is sectioned into different sub-committees to enhance productivity and its effectivity in the various activities and events organized by the Club.

Meanwhile, Mr. Marco Gerada was confirmed by the new committee as coach for the next season. He shall be assisted by Mr. Lawrence Borg. Mr. Michael Mangion was also confirmed as the Under 19 Youths coach.

At the time being, the Lija club is working hard to boost its present squad with new signings, that will be presented in a press conference that is planned to be held during the club’s first player’s meeting, that will be held in the coming weeks.