Roderick Briffa is MFA Footballer of the Year 2010/11

Malta international defender/midfielder Roderick Briffa crowned a most successful season for him and for Valletta by claiming the Footballer of the Year Award of the Malta Football Association. The award was presented during the association’s Annual Awards ceremony which was held on Friday at Le Meridien St. Julian’s Hotel and Spa.

Briffa claimed the coveted award ahead of Valletta defender Jonathan Caruana and Marsaxlokk’s Gareth Sciberras. The other two finalists were another two Valletta players – Denni Rocha Dos Santos and Gilbert Agius.

Roderick Briffa was one of the key players for Valletta who won the twentieth Premier League title in the history of the club and the BOV Super Cup. He played twenty-five league matches and scored four goals. Briffa was voted BOV Player of the Month for April/May 2011.

The twenty-nine year old player made eight appearances for the national team this season.

Briffa had started his career with Birkirkara, making his Premier League debut in season 1998/99. He had short loan spells with Lija Athletic and Pietà Hotspurs. In summer 2007, he was transferred to Sliema Wanderers but after eighteen months with the Blues, he moved to Valletta.

Meanwhile during the ceremony, MFA President Norman Darmanin Demajo, Parliamentary Secretary for Youth and Sport Clyde Puli and the representatives of Bank of Valletta and Maltco Lotteries – Victor Denaro and Mario Cassar, all delivered short speeches.

Photo: Copyright © domenic aquilina

The Winners:
Footballer of the Year: Roderick Briffa (Valletta)
Best First Division Player: John Paul Muscat (Mqabba)
Best Second Division Player: Adam Smeir (Rabat Ajax)
Best Third Division Player: Lee Baldacchino (Luqa St. Andrew’s)
Best Youth Player: Zach Muscat (Pietà Hotspurs)
Best Futsal Player: Florin Anton (ZC Excess Futsal)
Best Woman Player: Rachael Cuschieri (Birkirkara)

Top Scorers
Premier League: Alfred Effiong (Marsaxlokk) 17 goals.
First Division: Simon Shead (Mosta) 16 goals.
Second Division: Timothy Thomas (Zebbug) 22 goals.
Third Division: Jason Camilleri (Siggiewi) 24 goals.
Women’s First Division: Ylenia Carabott (Hibs) 19 goals.
Women’s Second Division: Amber Grech (Pembroke) 37 goals.
Futsal First Division: Jovica Milijic (Paola Downtown) 42 goals.
Futsal Second Division: Hashem Rababah (Capital) 36 goals.
Futsal Third Division: Stephen Zammit (City Boys) 29 goals.
Futsal Fourth Division: Wayne Hamer (Charline Stars) 25 goals.

Fair Play Awards
Premier Division: Tarxien Rainbows.
First Division: Mqabba.
Second Division: Rabat Ajax.
Third Division: Marsaskala.
Youth League: Hibernians.
Women’s League: Pembroke Athleta.
Overall Winner: Rabat Ajax.

The winners and finalists of the U*BET FA Trophy (Floriana and Valletta), Maltco Lotteries First Division Knock-Out (Dingli Swallows and Balzan Youths) and the quick-Keno Second and Third Division Knock-Out (Zejtun Corinthians and Rabat Ajax) were all presented with a cash prize from Maltco.