U*BET FA Trophy: Holders Floriana paired with Balzan

Holders Floriana were paired with Balzan Youths while Sliema Wanderers take on Valletta in the fourth round of the U*BET FA Trophy. The draws were held at the Centenary Hall, Ta’ Qali on Tuesday.

Birkirkara take on Hamrun Spartans in another clash between two Premier League sides.

There were sixteen teams in the draw including four teams from Division 1, one from Division 2 and another from Gozo besides ten Premier League clubs.

Marsaxlokk, Mosta, Qormi and Hibernians will all meet clubs from lower divisions.

The Southseasiders will be facing First Division leaders Pietà Hotspurs, Mosta take on Gozitan side Xewkija Tigers, Qormi will meet another Division 2 side Mellieha while Hibernians take on Rabat Ajax.

St. George’s and Lija Athletic managed to avoid the Premier League clubs and will be meeting in a clash between two Division 1 sides.

Before the draw, MFA Chief Executive Officer Bjorn Vassallo said that the new format of the competition left a positive impact on both the clubs and the general public. He said that for the smaller teams, meeting more established clubs was a positive experience as it provided them with a good showcase for their players.

Vassallo said the change in format was part of a series of changes which will include the Youth League, Women’s League, Futsal and Beach Soccer.

He concluded by saying that these changes are meant to attract more people to the stadiums and this would generate more income through gate money and possibly attract more sponsors.

U*BET FA Trophy fourth round
Marsaxlokk vs Pieta Hotspurs
Mosta vs Xewkija Tigers
Mellieha vs Qormi
Sliema Wanderers vs Valletta
St. George’s vs Lija Athletic
Birkirkara vs Hamrun Spartans
Rabat Ajax vs Hibernians
Balzan Youths vs Floriana

Matches will be played as follows on Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd January:

Saturday 21
Centenary Stadium
14:00 Marsaxlokk vs Pietà H.
16:00 Mellieha vs Qormi

National Stadium
14:00 Balzan Y. vs Floriana
16:00 Sliema W. vs Valletta

Sunday 22
Centenary Stadium
14:00 Mosta vs Xewkija T.
16:00 St. George’s vs Lija A.

Hibernians Stadium
14:00 Rabat A. vs Hibernians
16:00 Birkirkara vs Hamrun S.