Valletta FC win second edition of Charles Abela Memorial Cup

Valletta FC won the second edition of the Charles Abela Memorial Cup with victories over Zebbug Rangers and Mosta on Wednesday.

The current Premier League Champions beat Zebbug 2-0 and hosts Mosta 3-0 to win the triangular tournament at the Charles Abela Memorial Stadium. Denni Dos Santos was on target against Zebbug in the first match while captain Gilbert Agius scored a brace in their 3-0 victory over Mosta in the final match of the tournament.

Mosta beat Zebbug 1-0 in the second match with a brilliant goal from Jonathan Bajada. The final classification saw Valletta top with six points, Mosta second with three points and Zebbug in third with no points.

The triangular tournament was sponsored by Nectar Ltd. and organised by Mosta Tournaments.

At the end, Carlos Abela of Nectar Ltd presented the Charles Abela trophy to Valletta captain Gilbert Agius . Mosta FC and Zebbug Rangers were presented with mementoes of the occasion while Valletta’s winning squad were presented with commemorative medals.