Eight Premier League players suspended

Hibernians goalkeeper Mario Muscat was removed from captain for a period of one month while eight players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner.

Roderick Farrugia (Balzan), Joseph Borg (Floriana), Gaetan Spiteri (Hamrun), Jackson Di Lima Siqueira (Hibs), David Fenech (Mqabba), Abubakar Bello-Osagie (Qormi), Clifford Gatt Baldacchino (Sliema) and Steve Borg (Valletta) are therefore ruled out of the next round of matches which will be played between Saturday and Tuesday.

Jackson Lima and Steve Borg will miss the big match between Valletta and Hibernians. Borg and Gatt Baldacchino are ruled out of Sliema vs Floriana while Farrugia will be missing the game against Birkirkara.

Spiteri and Fenech will miss the Relegation Pool clash between Hamrun and Mqabba while Bello-Osagie is ruled out of the game against Mosta.

In Division 1, Francis Owusu (Dingli), Victor Bellia (Naxxar), Andreas Galea (St. Patrick), Kevin Robinson (Vittoriosa) and Ryan Cauchi (Zejtun) were banned for one match.

Eight players were also suspended for one match in Division 2, namely Darren Galea (Attard), Alessandro Pirrone and Jorge Paiva (Msida), Ryan Deguara (Gzira), Mark Camilleri (Siggiewi), Redeemer Borg (Sta. Venera), Jeremy Agius, John Alegbe and David Agius (Zebbug).

In Division 3, Edson Falzon (Mtarfa) was banned for two matches while Gilbert Scerri (Fgura) and Kurt Formosa (Mdina) were suspended for one game. Mdina official Edmond Camilleri was handed a two-match ban.