Seven Premier League players suspended

Seven Premier League players were suspended by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner on Wednesday.

Birkirkara defender Rodrigo Pereira was suspended for two matches while Lydon Micallef and Pedro Dos Santos Calcado (Balzan), Clive Brincat and Trevor Templeman (Marsaxlokk), Everton Pereira and Justin Grioli (Tarxien) were banned for one match.

Pereira will therefore miss Birkirkara’s next two games against Hibernians and Sliema. Micallef and Pedrinho are ruled out of Balzan vs Floriana, Brincat and Templeman out of the game against Mqabba while Everton and Grioli will be missing the game against Mosta.

Jean Claude Galea (Zejtun) was handed a two match ban in Division 1.

Paul Psaila (Luqa) and Philip Taylor (Mellieha) were suspended for two matches in Division 2 while Shawn Vella (San Gwann), Johan Briffa and Matthew Genuis (Zurrieq) were banned for one match. Mellieha team manager Sunny Abela was also suspended for two matches.

In Division 3, Christopher Micallef (Swieqi) was banned for four matches while Antoine Muscat (Xghajra) was banned for two. Charles Cachia and Clive Caruana (Kalkara), Adrian Gatt (Mdina), Daniel Cremona (Pembroke), Mark Ellul (Qrendi), Jonathan Grech (Sirens), Marlon Farrugia (Sta. Lucia), Ivan Edward Scicluna and Timothy Hampton (Swieqi) were all suspended for one match.

Clayton Frendo, Peter Abdilla and Robert Peplow (Birzebbuga), Clayton Borg (Mosta), Kearon Bruno (Mqabba), Carmelo Farrugia and Matthew Aquilina (Qormi) and Gary Tanti (Sliema) were all handed a one-match ban in the Youth League.