Valletta FC BOV Premier League champions 2011/12

Valletta were crowned BOV Premier League champions for season 2011/12 after defeating Sliema Wanderers 3-0. Three points which put the Citizens nine points clear of runners-up Hibernians.

Despite needing just a point to secure the title, Valletta went all out in search of the three points against a team which had nothing to lose as the Wanderers are out of the battle for a place in Europe this summer. For Valletta, this is the 21st title in the history of the club.

Jesmond Zerafa had the full squad at his disposal while Sliema lacked Henry Bonello, Nikola Bogdanovic Andrew Decesare and Rumen Galabov with Emiliano Lattes, Danial Mitev and Anicet Eyenga being retained on the bench.

The Citizens made their intentions clear right from the start and a Denni Rocha dos Santos effort from the left was turned into a corner by Curmi on the 8th minute.

A Ryan Fenech freekick from the right for Sliema was saved by Andrew Hogg. The Citizens replied with a William Barbosa header off a corner by Denni Rocha dos Santos on 35 minutes.

Valletta managed to break the deadlock two minutes from the end of the first half when off a cross by Denni Rocha dos Santos, attempts by Mifsud and Zongo were blocked, the ball reached Denni once again whose conclusion was deflected by a defender past goalkeeper Anthony Curmi.

One minute later, Roderick Briffa released Denni on the left and the latter served Michael Mifsud who slotted the ball past the Sliema goalkeeper.

Sliema went close to reducing the gap through Josef Mifsud and Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, early in the second half.

However Valletta increased the lead on 49 minutes as Denni released Ousseni Zongo on the right and the latter hit hard past goalkeeper Anthony Curmi.

An Edmond Agius effort from outside the area scraped past the post on 63 minutes. Two minutes later, Gilbert Agius served Denni whose conclusion hit the foot of the upright.

Denni Rocha dos Santos was voted BOV Player of the Match.

VALLETTA Andrew Hogg, Jonathan Caruana, Steve Borg, Saidou Mady Panandetiguiri, Ian Azzopardi, Roderick Briffa, Edmond Agius (73’ Roderick Bajada), Ousseni Zongo, Denni Rocha dos Santos (70’ Terrence Scerri), William Barbosa (60’ Gilbert Agius), Michael Mifsud.
Subs not used: Yenz Cini, Aleksandrs Cekulajevs, Alfred Effiong, Filippo Andrea Scozzese.
Coach: Leonard Farrugia
Assistant Coach: Jesmond Zerafa

SLIEMA Anthony Curmi, Ryan Fenech, Josef Mifsud, Ryan Grech (77’ Andrew Caligari), Mark Scerri, Steve Bezzina (90’ Zac Micallef), Clifford Gatt Baldacchino, Trevor Cilia, Alex Muscat, Cleaven Frendo (87’ Dejan Vukovic), Beppe Muscat.
Subs not used: Keone Cutajar, Emiliano Lattes, Anicet Eyonga, Daniel Mitev..
Coach: Danilo Doncic
Assistant Coach: Saviour Debono Grech

Referee: Paul Caruana
Assistant Referees: Chris Francalanza, Paul Apap
Fourth Official: Chris Lautier
Yellow Cards: Scerri
Scorers: 43’ Denni Rocha dos Santos; 44’ Michael Mifsud; 54’ Ousseni Zongo