Five clubs granted UEFA Licence

Five clubs have been granted the UEFA Licence and hence could take part in UEFA competitions this summer.

Valletta, Birkirkara and Hibernians were granted the licence immediately while Sliema Wanderers and Floriana have only some minor issue to settle in order to obtain the licence.

After winning the championship, Valletta will be taking part in the UEFA Champions League.

It is yet unclear whether Valletta will enter the competition from the first qualifying round or the second qualifying round and everything depends on who will claim the UEFA Champions League this season – Chelsea or Bayern Munich.

If Bayern Munich win the Champions League, they will free a place in the group stage and hence in the qualifying rounds and therefore Valletta would enter the second qualifying round.

On the other hand, in case of a Champions League triumph for Chelsea, Valletta would start from the first qualifying round. This would be of greater financial benefit for Valletta since a club earns €130,000 for each round it plays in plus the sum of €200,000 for taking part in the competition.

Meanwhile Hibernians, Floriana and Birkirkara will be taking part in the UEFA Europa League, no matter who wins the U*BET FA Trophy as Hamrun Spartans and Qormi do not hold a UEFA Licence.

Malta will be represented once again by three clubs in the UEFA Europa League after being represented by just two in the past two years.

After some positive results in recent years, Malta climbed to 48th in the rankings. Following Malta are Northern Ireland, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, Andorra and San Marino.