William Barbosa scoops four awards in Replay Gala Night

Valletta midfielder William Barbosa claimed four awards in the fifth edition of the Gram Collections Replay Gala Night. The Brazilian midfielder was voted Best Midfielder, Best Foreign Player and Best Overall and was named in the BOV Premier League Best XI.

The Top Star Player Award, Top Star Coach Award and Young Star Player Award went to Hibernians – with Andrew Cohen, Mark Miller and Bjorn Kristensen respectively winning these three awards. Invited to vote for these three awards were all Premier League players – for the Top Star Player and Young Star Player and all Premier League coaches for the Top Star Coach.

The BOV Premier League Best XI included six Valletta players – Andrew Hogg, Steve Borg, Jonathan Caruana, Denni Rocha dos Santos, Roderick Briffa and William Barbosa; three from Hibernians – Rodolfo Soares, Clayton Failla and Andrew Cohen; Obinna Obiefule from Mosta and Jorge Pereira da Silva from Qormi.

Valletta defender Jonathan Caruana was voted Best Defender and Best Local Player while Clayton Failla of Hibernians won the Viewers Choice Award and In-Nazzjon Player of the Year.

Mario Muscat (Hibernians) was voted Best Goalkeeper and Obinna Obiefule (Mosta) Best Striker. Hibernians coach Mark Miller was voted Best Coach.

Marco Borg won the award for Best Referee.

Rabat Ajax striker Adam Smeir was voted Best First Division Player while Rachael Cuschieri (Birkirkara) won the award for Best Female Player. Llywelyn Cremona (Valletta) was voted Best Under-17 Player.

Former referee Charles Scerri, former national team captain Raymond Vella and Fr Hilary Tagliaferro won the Lifetime Achievement Awards while Women’s national team coach Pierre Brincat and National Stadium Ground Manager Victor Mifsud were presented with the Replay Appreciation Awards.

Valletta FC won the award for the Best Website.