New committee for Lija Athletic — Brian Spiteri confirmed as coach

Lija Athletic F.C. held their Annual General Meeting on Sunday. The new administrative committee for the forthcoming season was elected by the members, whereby Mr. Jesmond Caruana was elected as President for the first time, after Mr. Charles J. Scerri has been at the helm of the Club for fourteen consecutive years.

Samuel Cutajar and Suzette Camilleri were confirmed as the Hon. Secretary and Hon. Treasurer respectively, for the third year running. David Formosa and Emanuel Bezzina are the Club’s Vice-Presidents, while Jeremy Dalli was nominated as the Club’s Public Relations Officer.

The other members elected in the committee are the following: Carmelo Bonnici (Assistant Secretary), Saviour Sammut (Assistant Treasurer), Charles J. Scerri (Council Member), Lawrence Borg (Team Manager), Louis Fenech (Club Director), Sunny Scerri, William Mintoff, John Bugeja and Robert Magro.

As in recent years, the Lija Athletic committee is sectioned into different sub-committees to enhance productivity and its effectivity in the various activities and events organized by the Club.

As from the next season, the club will also have a Futsal team, after Naxxar Motors Futsal signed an amalgamation agreement with the Club. Naxxar Motors Futsal have been amongst the elite of futsal teams in the past years and have won several major honours. This season, Naxxar Motors Futsal ended their commitments in second place, just one point behind the leaders and eventual champions.

Meanwhile, Mr. Brian Spiteri was confirmed by the new committee as coach for the next season. He shall be assisted by Mr. Lawrence Borg. Mr. Frankie Graham is the new Under 19 Youths coach.

At the time being, the Lija club is working hard to boost its present squad with new signings, that will be presented in a press conference that is planned to be held before the club’s kick-start to the First Division campaign 2012/2013.