Clayton Failla voted MFA Footballer of the Year

Hibernians and Malta international defender Clayton Failla won the MFA Footballer of the Year award 2011/12. This is the second time Failla was voted Footballer of the Year after 2008/09.

Failla won the the award ahead of another Hibs player Andrew Cohen and Valletta’s William Barbosa, Denni Rocha dos Santos and Jonathan Caruana.

The awards for the Best Players in the various divisions, the Youth League, Women’s League and Futsal, the Top Scorers and the Fair Play Awards were also presented during the MFA Annual Football Awards ceremony which was held at the Grand Hotel Excelsior on Wednesday.

The winners of the various awards were:

Best Players

BOV First Division Darren Falzon (Naxxar).
BOV Second Division Simon Shead (Gzira).
BOV Third Division Matthew Spiteri (Fgura).
Youth League Johann Bezzina (Hibs).
BOV Women’s League Rachel Cuschieri (Birkirkara).
Futsal Noel Bray (Naxxar Motors).

Top Scorers

Premier League Obinna Obiefule (Marsaxlokk/Mosta) 34 goals.
First Division Darren Falzon (Naxxar) and Marcelo Pereira (Vittoriosa) 14 goals.
Second Division Simon Shead (Gzira) 20 goals.
Third Division Ricardo Severino Goncalves (Fgura) 25 goals.
Women’s First Division Ylenia Carabott (Hibs) 22 goals.
Women’s Second Division Brenda Borg (Mgarr) 33 goals.
Futsal First Division Alexander Ribic (Excess RP Bidnija) 40 goals.
Futsal Second Division Claude Camilleri (City Boys) 38 goals.
Futsal Third Division Shawn Vella (Ta’ Zwejt Boys) 16 goals.
Futsal Fourth Division Wayne Muscat (Balzan Youths) 45 goals.

Fair Play Awards

Premier League Qormi.
First Division Rabat Ajax.
Second Division Gzira United.
Third Division Xghajra Tornados.
Youth League Balzan Youths.
Women’s League Tarxien Rainbows.
Overall Winners Gzira United.