Pietro Ghedin names final squad for San Marino friendly

National coach Pietro Ghedin named the final eighteen-man squad ahead of next Tuesday’s friendly match against San Marino at the Stadio Olimpico in Serravalle.

The only uncapped players in the squad are Ryan Camilleri of Hibernians and John Mintoff of Sliema Wanderers as Mosta defender Alex Cini, Adam Smeir of Rabat Ajax and Julian Galea of Melita failed to make it to the final squad. The other players to be dropped include Henry Bonello, Reuben Gauci, Edward Herrera, Ian Azzopardi, Dyson Falzon, Edmond Agius and Cleavon Frendo.

For the first time, Mosta have three players in the national squad after they secured the services of Justin Haber, Luke Dimech and Daniel Bogdanovic who were on the books of Kerkyra, AEK Larnaca and Blackpool respectively last season. The only foreign-based players are goalkeeper Andrew Hogg who joined Enosis Neon Paralimni in Cyprus, Andrei Agius of Latina, Etienne Barbara of Vancouver Whitecaps while Andre Schembri is yet to join a new club after his contract with Panionios expired.

The players in the squad are therefore:
goalkeepers Andrew Hogg (Enosis Neon Paralimini), Justin Haber (Mosta);
defenders Alex Muscat (Sliema), Andrei Agius (Latina), Luke Dimech (Mosta), Roderick Briffa (Valletta), Ryan Camilleri (Hibs), Steve Borg (Valletta);
midfielders Gareth Sciberras (Birkirkara), John Mintoff (Sliema), Paul Fenech (Birkirkara), Ryan Fenech (Valletta), Shaun Bajada (Valletta);
forwards Andre Schembri (unattached), Andrew Cohen (Hibs), Daniel Bogdanovic (Mosta), Etienne Barbara (Vancouver Whitecaps), Michael Mifsud (Valletta).

Photo: Copyright © Paul Zammit Cutajar