Ghedin names provisional squad for World Cup qualifier

National coach Pietro Ghedin named the provisional squad for next Friday’s 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifier against the Czech Republic at the Doosan Arena in Plzen.

The squad includes two new faces – Ayrton Azzopardi of Hibernians and Terence Vella of Hamrun Spartans. Joseph Zerafa of Birkirkara returns to the squad after being dropped earlier this summer for disciplinary reasons.

Mosta striker Daniel Bogdanovic was left out of the squad as he is currently recovering from an injury while Etienne Barbara of Vancouver Whitecaps was not included.

The provisional squad is made up:
goalkeeper Henry Bonello (Sliema), Justin Haber (Mosta), Andrew Hogg (Enosis Neon Paralimini);
defenders Andrei Agius (Latina), Steve Borg (Valletta), Ryan Camilleri (Hibs), Jonathan Caruana (Valletta), Luke Dimech (Mosta), Edward Herrera (Birkirkara), Alex Muscat (Sliema), Joseph Zerafa (Birkirkara);
midfielders Edmond Agius (Valletta), Ayrton Azzopardi (Hibs), Shaun Bajada (Valletta), Roderick Briffa (Valletta), Paul Fenech (Birkirkara), John Mintoff (Sliema), Gareth Sciberras (Birkirkara);
forwards Andrew Cohen (Hibs), Julian Galea (Melita), Michael Mifsud (Valletta), Andre Schembri (Omonia Nicosia), Terence Vella (Hamrun).