Eight Premier League players suspensed

Eight players were suspended by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the last round of matches from the BOV Premier League. The worst hit were Nigel Rizzo of Melita and Udochukwu Nwoko of Hibernians who were banned for four matches and two matches respectively.

Pedro Henrique dos Santos Calcado (Balzan), Roderick Fenech and Anton Todorov Vergilov (Hamrun), Matthew Borg (Melita), Ryan Grech (Mosta) and Roderick Briffa (Valletta) were banned for one match.

Nigel Rizzo who picked a fourth yellow card during the game against Hibernians and was later sent off the bench, after being substituted, will miss the next four games for Melita against Valletta, Sliema, Hamrun and Balzan. Matthew Borg will also miss the Valletta game. Also ruled out of the same match is Valletta’s Roderick Briffa.

Udo Nwoko, who was sent off during the Hibs vs Melita game, is ruled out of the games against Rabat and Birkirkara. Hamrun Spartans duo Fenech and Vergilov and Mosta’s Ryan Grech will be missing the clash between Hamrun and Mosta while Pedro Calcado will miss Balzan’s next game against Tarxien.

Meanwhile Melita official Matthew Naudi was banned for two matches.

In Division 1, Jurgen Farrugia (Birzebbuga), Karl Saliba (Gzira), Ryan Mifsud (Marsaxlokk), David Azzopardi (Mqabba), Kurt Drago (Naxxar), Neil Chetcuti and Trayo Grozev (St. Andrews) were all banned for one match together with Naxxar Lions official Dione Drago.

Keith Darmanin (Fgura), Strati Iliev (Gharghur), Luke Agius and Dhani Cerra Texeira (Mgarr), Malcolm Mamo and Jonathan Mifsud (Pembroke), Daniel Cosaitis (San Gwann), Ryan Previ (St. George’s), David Calleja (Sta. Venera) and Lee James Agius (Zebbug) were suspended for one match in Division 2 while Matthew Cassar and Jonathan Zahra (Kalkara), Clayton Caruana (Marsa) and Ryan Zammit (Mtarfa) were banned for one match in Division 3. Senglea coach Dennis Fenech was suspended for one match.