Eight Premier League players suspended

Michael Valenzia of Melita was banned for three matches while another seven players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches from the BOV Premier League.

The seven players to be suspended for one match are Jamie Pace and Renato Conceicao (Balzan), Clyde Borg and Aman Verma (Floriana), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians), Abubakar Bello-Osagie (Qormi) and Ivan Carapic (Rabat).

Valenzia is ruled out of the Amateurs’ next three games against Sliema, Hamrun and Balzan. Balzan will be without Pace and Conceicao for the game against Mosta while Borg and Verma are ruled out of the Greens’s clash with Tarxien.

Kristensen will miss the Paolites’ next game against Birkirkara, Bello-Osagie the match against Hamrun and Carapic Rabat’s game against Valletta.

Meanwhile in Division 1, David Senior (Dingli), Matthew Towns (St. Andrews), Adam Spiteri and Jean Matthias Vella (Vittoriosa) were banned for one match while Terrence Farrugia of Marsaxlokk was suspended for three matches.

In Division 2, Rodney Caruana (Pembroke), Omar Rababah (Zebbug) and Karl Magro (Zurrieq) were all suspended for two matches. Phil Taylor and Kevin Fenech (Mellieha), Johann Said (Mgarr), Bruno Ferraz do Amaral (San Gwann) and Matthew Cocks (Zurrieq) were banned for one match. On the other hand, Mellieha official Sunny Abela was suspended for one year.

Jurgen Gauci (Attard), Patrick Muscat (Kalkara), Gary Caruana (Mtarfa) and Glenn Brincat (Senglea) were banned for one match in Division 3.