Mtarfa, Ta' Xbiex to contest Strickland Cup final

Mtarfa and Ta’ Xbiex will be contesting the final of the Roger Strickland Cup on Saturday after defeating Swieqi United and Xghajra Tornados respectively in the two semi-finals on Thursday.

In the first semi-final, Ta’ Xbiex managed to beat Xghajra Tornados 4-1 on penalties following a 2-2 draw.

Albert Caruana and Lizio Grech gave Xghajra a two-goal lead within the first half-hour. Adrian Dominicus pulled one back on the 45th minute and one minute in the second half, the same player equalised.

With the result still draw at the end of the ninety minutes, penalties had to decide the issue. Mark Sammut, Fabio Grech, Adrian Dominicus and Steven Hyzler scored for Ta’ Xbiex, Clayton Micallef and Terence Borg replied for Xghajra.

TA’ XBIEX: Zarb Adrian, Agius Miguel, Meyar de Melo Anderson, Pace Justin, Azzopardi Jeffrey, Paris Karl, Xuereb Adrian, Hyzler Steven, Wismayer Christian, Ferriggi Jeffrey, Dominicus Adrian.
XGHAJRA: Peplow Jerome, Leonardi Mauro, Portelli Martin, Magro Michael, Attard Shaun, Abela Terence, Borg Terence, Attard Neil, Caruana Albert, Vella Andreas, Grech Lizio.
Referee: Sandro Spiteri

Meanwhile Mtarfa beat Swieqi 1-0 in the other semi-final.

Gary Caruana scored the all-important goal just before the end of the first half.

SWIEQI: Gauci Sacha, Buhagiar Benoit, Dalli Christopher, Borg Clayton, Zammit Robert, Refalo Glendon, Micallef Alan, Sammut Simon, Kertulush Tundhay, Catania Elton, Spiteri Claude.
MTARFA: Vella Darryl, Fenech Julian, Portelli Luke, Micallef Arvin, Sammut Roderick, Joseph
Munyao, Caruana Gary, Haruna Doda, Azzopardi Paul, Smeir Omar.
Referee: Stefan Pace.

On Saturday, Swieqi United take on Xghajra Tornados in the final for third and fourth place, kick-off at 14:00, while the final between Ta’ Xbiex vs Mtarfa is scheduled at 16:00.

The two games will be played at the Centenary Stadium.