Cyprus win Easter Tournament

u17malta-cyprus130401Cyprus won the Easter Tournament organised by the Malta Football Association with maximum points from three matches after defeating Malta 4-2 in the final match at the National Stadium on Monday.

Malta therefore finished its commitments at the bottom of the table. Cyprus won the group with nine points, followed by Greece on six and Northern Ireland on three.

Fytos Kyriakou put Cyprus ahead when he converted a penalty on 13 minutes. Andreas Fragkou doubled the score on the 33rd and three minutes later, Christos Wheeler added another. Fragkou converted a penalty to make it 4-0 just before half-time.

Fifteen minutes in the second half, Aidan Friggieri pulled one back for Malta and after Stavrin Kostantinou missed a penalty for Cyprus on the 62nd minute, a minute later, Aidan Friggieri scored a penalty for Malta’s second goal.

After the game MFA vice-president Alex Manfre presented the trophy to the captain of Cyprus.

Photos: Copyright ©

[nggallery id=472]

MALTA Jamie Azzopardi, Nick Ghio, Iousef Meli, Mirco Vella (41′ Matthew Guillaimier), Neil Spiteri (66′ Mauro Sultana), Conor Borg (63′ Andre Cachia), Jake Grech, Clint Zammit (41′ Luca Brincat), Juan Carlos Corbalan (41′ Mark Anthony Scicluna), Joseph Mbong (41′ Daniel Buckle), Aidan Friggieri.
CYPRUS Panagiotis Panagioutu (41′ Giorgios Sofroniou), Lenos Sotirou (41′ Pavlos Christodoulou), Foivos Christodoulou, Antonis Koumis, Andreas Fragkou, Demet Charalambous (52′ Eleftherios Dimitrou), Stavrin Kostantinou (66′ Thanasis Liasidis), Christos Wheeler (66′ Stelios Tampouris), Fytos Kyriakou, Elias Sapachlaris, Rafael Anastasiou.
Referee: Adrian Azzopardi
Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, Roberto Vella

Photo: Copyright © domenic aquilina

In another match, Greece defeated Northern Ireland 2-0 thanks to goals by Georgios Karakoutis on the 9th and Ioannis Vidalis on the 27th.