Nadur Youngsters celebrate championship

Gozo StadiumChampions Nadur Youngsters were presented with the trophy after winning the eleventh Melita First Division championship after the 3-3 draw with runners-up Kercem Ajax on Sunday.

Joseph Portelli put Nadur ahead on 15 minutes. Michael Vella levelled matters on the 45th. Kercem then tirned the score in their favour with goals by Jean Paul Mizzi one minute in the second half and three minutes later, Malcolm Vella made it 3-1. Anthony Portelli reduced the gap on 87 minutes and two minutes in added time, the same player notched the equaliser.

On Saturday, Victoria Hotspurs defeated Xewkija Tigers 4-3.

Dylan Bellotti put the Hotspurs ahead eight minutes from half-time but Dene Shields scored twice in added time to turn the score in their favour. One minute in second half, Saturday Nanapere made it 2-2 and the same player scored the third goal for the Hotspurs on 54 minutes. Dene Shields restored equilibrium on the 58th but Nanapere notched the winner on the 70th.

Xewkija Tigers striker Dene Shields ended as top scorer with 18 goals.

The Melita Second Division League also came to an end this weekend with the last two matches.

Champions Oratory Youths defeated runners-up Munxar Falcons 1-0 thanks to a goal after just one minute by Dione Lautier.

In another match, Ghajnsielem beat Qala Saints 2-1.

Qala took the lead on the 25th thanks to Shaun Muscat but goals by Robert Grima on the 30th and the 71st gave Ghajnsielem the three points.

Sannat Lions were relegated from the First Division while Oratory Youths and Munxar Falcons were promoted. The number of teams in the top division will increase to eight with the remaining six teams playing in Division 2.