Xaghra United retain First Division status

Gozo StadiumXaghra United retained their First Division status in Gozo after defeating Ghajnsielem 5-3 in the Promotion/Relegation Decider at the Gozo Stadium on Wednesday.

A brace by John Camilleri within the first ten minutes paved the way for Xaghra who extended the lead on the 16th minute thanks to Joseph Vella. Kenny Hili pulled one back for the Second Division side on the 27th minute but goals by Slavi Kostenski on the 29th and Michael Bezzina on the 37th increased the lead to 5-1.

Robert Grima scored the Blacks’ second goal on the hour and eight minutes later, Damon Hili reduced the gap further.

Nadur Youngsters, Kercem Ajax, SK Victoria Wanderers, Xewkija Tigers, Victoria Hotspurs, Xaghra United, Oratory Youths and Munxar Falcons will be therefore playing in Division 1 while Sannat Lions, Ghajnsielem, Qala Saints, St. Lawrence Spurs, Zebbug Rovers and Gharb Rangers will be playing in Division 2.