Nine Premier League players suspended

National StadiumMosta midfielder Danail Mitev was handed a two-match ban while another eight players were banned for one match by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches from the BOV Premier League.

Firas Aboulezz (Balzan), Zach Muscat (Birkirkara), Steve Pisani and Tony Warner (Floriana), Jean Pierre Attard and Nigel Rizzo (Melita), Roderick Sammut (Qormi) and Justin Felice (Rabat) were the players to be banned for one match.

Zach Muscat will be missing the big match against Valletta while Mitev is ruled out of the last two games against Hibernians and Sliema.

In the Relegation Pool, Firas Aboulezz and Roderick Sammut will miss Qormi vs Balzan, Attard, Rizzo and Felice are ruled out of Melita vs Rabat while Floriana could not count on Warner and Pisani for the game against Hamrun.

In Division 1, Mauro Bonnici (Mqabba), Terence Agius (Pietà) and Peter Chizoba Anizoba (St. Andrews) were banned for one match.

Lydon Vella (Fgura), Bydasser Sammut (Gharghur), Albert Busuttil (Kirkop), Daniel Saliba and Giovanni Galea (Mellieha) and Rigers Ceka (Siggiewi) were handed a one-match ban in Division 2.

In Division 3, Stephen Place (Mdina) was banned for three matches while Carlo Leonardi (Sirens) and Mark Sammut (Ta’ Xbiex) were suspended for two matches. Clint Caruana (Attard), Colin Gatt (Ghaxaq), Stefan Camilleri (Kalkara), Mohammed Darik Abdalla (Mtarfa), Gaynor D’Amato (Santa Lucia), Jacques Ellul Soler (Swieqi), Daniel Axisa, Christian Magro and Mauro Leonardi (Xghajra) were all banned for one match. Kalkara coach Marco Gerada was suspended for four matches while Xghajra coach Iro Curmi was suspended for two matches.